Many university students do part-time work while studying at university. Is this a positive or negative development?

Over the last few years, it has become a trend that university scholars work part-time jobs while they are studying. In my opinion, this may have many detrimental effects on them and in this essay, I will support my view with valid arguments and examples. To begin with, the main reason why I believe that working while studying in university is disadvantageous is that it might adversely affect students’ academic performance. This is because they become time-poor and can not focus on their studies. For example, it has been proven that working students tend to get lower grades than their peers. Indeed, only when they put all their time and efforts on studying will they be able to boost their academic level. Furthermore, not only does part-time work affect scholars’ study but it may also lead to some psychological problems such as depression and anxiety disorders. Since working students are usually under stress to balance between their work and study, they eventually become depressed. Seldom does this occur if they focus only on their tuition. For instance, according to a survey conducted by the Egyptian Ministry of Education, 30% of tertiary education students suffer from stress and anxiety as they work while studying. Hence, it is far better for tutees to start their career after finishing university. In conclusion, owing to the increasing cost of living, some university students are forced to do part-time jobs. However, I believe this is a negative development which has devastating impacts on their educational level as well as their psychological health.