University should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether colleges should allow the same number of male and female students. This type of argument is particular in developed societies. However, I strongly disagree with this notion because it is impossible for everyone to have the same interests and if universities start accepting the equal number of applications then they might have to face some losses. Firstly, the main reason I disagree is that everyone has their own interests and as a result, there might not be the same number of male and female students who are interested in taking a course. For instance, in a recent survey conducted on university students revealed that more than 80 per cent of female students were interested in arts, whereas most of the male students were interested in science subjects. For, this reason for unequal interests I don't agree with the argument that there should be the same male and female students in a course. Secondly, I disagree is due to the fact that students tend to attend universities close to where they live. However, there won't be the equal number of boys and girls in some locations and as a result, universities might not accept applications of one gender if there are fewer applications from the opposite gender. For example, in India there are more male students than female students and male students won't find a place in the university they are interested in attending because there is more number of applications from boys than girls. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this concept as students have different interests and universities might have to face financial troubles if they start accepting the same number of male and female students in every course.