In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Owing to a noticeable rise in fast food consumption rate, the figures of health -related problems such as diabetics and heart diseases have exponentially soared. That is why many governments assume that through elevating taxes on fatty sugar-rich meals, they would curb people's ingestion of this food which consequently improve their health. Personally, I agree that this step is considered a beneficial strategy due to numerous reasons which will be explained in this essay. The main reason contributing to the effectiveness of raising taxes on junk food is based on an economic perspective. Once governments impose higher taxes on fast food, they would gain more money which could fund the healthcare system to improve the quality of people's health. For example, in the UK, since they levy a huge tariff on cigarettes, they were able to reduce the number of smokers aligned with treating those who have lung diseases resulting from heavy smoking. Similarly, if authorities increase taxes on junk food, they will mitigate serious health problems related to consuming this food. Another possible justification is that practically, the more taxes are stated, the higher the price of fast food will be. Thus, fast food consumers would not only change their dietary habits for healthy alternatives but also eat junk food occasionally. This is simply because they have attracted to this type of food thanks to its reasonable price. Seldom their consumption will increase after applying higher taxes. To conclude, as poor food choices have detrimental impacts on public health, governments should initiate effective deterrent measures in order to ameliorate this issue. I believe that an increase in taxes on junk food shows a decline in its consumption either because of increasing its price or affording more funds to tackle its harmful effects on health