Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, the debate on technology and its effect on human relationships have been brought to light. People have different views on whether current technological advancements has united or divided communities. I believe that modern means of communication brings individuals from all over the world. On one hand, modern technology may cause an addiction to online platforms such as social media, which is a leading factor as to why people become more distant with one another. Social media affects one's dopamine-reward system, and these platforms are design to make people feel happy and satisfied when receiving positive attention online. Thus, this makes the experience more addictive, espcially to users who have low self-esteem, who use these networks as a coping mechanism. However, as users spend more time on their devices, they tend to neglect spending time in person with family and friends, thereby leading to the emotional and physical distance people are so worried about. On the other hand, ways of communicating have evolved to a point where interacting with people from all across of the world is now possible. Just by using the internet, individuals can interact with friends and family in different countries. Thus, despite the distance and time difference, they have the means to stay in contact with one another. Before the internet was founded, people has to utilize the old means of letters to share news to others, which can take days or months to receive a reply. Now, downloading messenger apps allows one to inform others in less than a minute. Moreover, using communal platforms and networks enables someone to join communities with people of different backgrounds and cultures, allowing thme to expand their knowledge, share ideas and learn from one another in seconds. In conclusion, I think that the benefits of technology outweights outweigh the drawbacks. It has opened up many means of contacting others, giving a sense of interconnectedness in society. While people are concerned about the negative effects of excessive use of the internet, steps can be taken to reduce the risks, such as parental guidance.