Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Family communication has always been a controversial topic because the level of communication is hard to quantify exactly. In my opinion, I agree that family members share less about their life. Probably the most obvious reason is that many people leave their hometowns to work in different cities or countries. Migration is a trend, thus many parents stay in their hometowns while their offsprings move out. The physical distance may affect the effectiveness of communication because people do not see others face to face. As the result, many will not be able to reach out to their close ones for a long time. Another reason worths mentioning is the generation gap. While youngsters want to express their personalities and freedom, seniors may not agree with their behaviours. Since they may restrict their juniors from doing what they like, conflicts may occur and they can be difficult to resolve. Moreover, people have to work for longer hours, thus many do not have time for other activities such as catching up with their relatives. Therefore, they may not up to date with others' hobbies or interests. Many people may argue that the development of technology help to improve communication since it is easy to make a phone call or send a message for a person who is far away. While I agree with the ease of use, many seniors may have difficulties to learn how to use the devices, so for me, it is not a way to improve communication for family members. To conclude, I believe that it is harder to keep in touch with relatives because of the distance between living and generation gap. Each individual need to try spending more time for others if they want to fix the issue.