It is thought by some that it is better to live in the city while others believe that life is better in the countryside. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Urbanisation has made many people move from the countryside to settle down in various towns and cities. While some believe it is better to live in the city, others believe it is preferable to live in a rural area. In my opinion, I believe people should live in the city as it exposes them to different opportunities. On the one hand, most people live or move to the city because of job prospects. In other words, it is easier to secure employment, especially for professionals, since most of the big industries and companies are situated in the cities. Hence, this explains the high influx of people moving to the city to search for greener pastures. To illustrate this, research carried out in Lagos by the University of Lagos in 2010 found out that more than 80% of students who studied at the institution stayed back to pursue a career in the state instead of going back to their hometown. For this reason, many students prefer to reside in the city. On the other hand, living conditions in the countryside are more affordable. Thus, people choose to live there as a result of the lower cost of living. Therefore, things are cheaper in this place than in the city. One clear example is that people do not have to spend a fortune to get good accommodation as it is easier to afford rent. Another example is that life is less stressful as most families do not have to go through hardship to survive on a daily basis. Conclusively, life in the countryside could be cost-effective and not overwhelming for some people, but I believe living in the city, there are better employment opportunities and also generally improve their living conditions.