Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

While routine yearly examinations are the only realistic mode to judge a pupil's knowledge, regular home-work and projects are not a practical mode to grade their performances. This essay completely disagrees with this view and I intend to justify it in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, the traditional pattern of examination is not an ideal way to inspect pupil knowledge. As many students tend to fall prey of anxiety and nervousness and are unable to deliver their best performance in the exams. Furthermore, if a student can not attend his exam because of a medical reason or a social issue, then despite having good knowledge, he would be declared as a failure. For instance, studies show that nearly 20% of the students who got failed in their exams last year either could not perform well because of their nervousness or could not attend their exams. On the contrary, the regular assessment of students is a reliable and realistic approach to grade students. Furthermore, a teacher is the best critic for his students because he has seen their performance throughout the year and is not relying on a single performance at any given time. For example, a regular teacher has the records of each and every student he has taught during the whole year based on which he can have a better assessment of the students rather than to judge on the basis of a single exam. To conclude, the regular assessment of the students in terms of the course work and projects is the most reliable and practical approach to judge their performances, as many students can not perform well on the exam day because of anxiety or any medical issues.