Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourist and not local people. Why is this case? What can be done to attract more local people?

It is very common to see more tourists at museums and heritage sites than local people. This could be due to lack of awareness by locals, especially younger generations, about those sites compared to genuinely interested foreign visitors would do some research and visit those sites in numbers. Effective advertising campaigns and changing educational curriculum in schools can be the solutions to this problem. In this essay the main causes for the given problem and possible solutions will be discussed. To begin with, it is well known a large segment of tourists and researchers, who travel across the globe visiting places with archaeological importance could easily outnumber the local visitors. Firstly as a result of their true appreciation for olden days, tourists visit related areas in large numbers, even at multiple times. Secondly, usually travel agents guide tourists to museums and archaeological sites. For example, tourists who visit Sri Lanka usually pay visits to ancient kingdoms located in places such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa and Kandy. Contrastingly, local communities usually tend to visit places that provide more relaxation or leisure which means museums and locations with historical values gets less attraction from them. Hence we often see more tourists in historical places than locals. On other hand, relevant government authorities should take measures to run effective advertising campaigns to promote museums and historical sites among locals and including related content in curriculums. First of all the authorities should communicate the message about historical sites and museums to locals through billboards, newspapers and local social gatherings. Additionally, content related to historical activities must be included in the school curriculum. As an instance, when Sri Lankan school curriculum had History as a subject there were trips organised by schools and local communities to expose kids to places with archaeological importance and museums. Thus, responsible parties can provide sustainable solutions to have more locals at museums and historical sites through the above methods. In conclusion, while they are genuine reasons to have more tourists in museums and historical places, there are opportunities to execute successful initiatives to attract more local people to those sites. They should continue to explore such avenues as it could provide great social benefits.