Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is contended that governments should invest more of their money in railways instead of roads. I strongly agree with this statement as using money on roads has its drawbacks and this measure encompasses the potential to improve the environment. Firstly, building a rail transport system encourages people to use public transport more often instead of private vehicles. This reduces the amount of vehicles such as cars, trucks and motorbikes on the road. One of the many contributors to pollution is vehicles as such. For instance, the engines of these automobiles release harmful gases such as sulphur dioxide which contributes to poor air quality, affecting the health of many people. In addition, fewer automobiles on the road reduce traffic congestion, especially during peak hours. This makes it easier for people to reach their destination in a punctual manner. Furthermore, it is expensive to maintain and build roads. With many vehicles and traffic, roads eventually wear out, therefore, they need to be rebuilt or re-polished. For example, due to the hot weather and a greater proportion of private vehicles being used in my country, potholes are very common and often have to be patched up. In the long run, the maintenance of these roads costs more money than building a railway, causing the government to ignore other important issues. In conclusion, I believe that governments should spend money on building railways rather than roads due to the prospect that pollution in the environment can be minimised. On top of that, constructing railway systems encompasses a greater benefit in the long run as it is more cost-efficient.