Around the world more and more people are living in urban areas. Why is this? What problems does this cause?

It goes without saying that due to industrialisation and development of technology the pace of urbanisation has increased many folds. More and more people are shifting to the cities citing the better employment, lifestyle and facilities available in the cities. However, this has led to some problems as well. The following paragraphs shall delve into the reasons and the issues caused by this urbanization. To begin with, cities are often seen as places with better employment, amenities and lifestyle. The Rapid development of urban areas caused by industrialisation has resulted in more employment opportunities and this has resulted in the people of the countryside to move into cities. For example, in most of the factories and industries,the people from nearby rural areas perform labour work. This results in the migration of these people to cities. Moreover, the better facilities in urban areas, either it is education or health care also place a vital role in this migration process. However, there are some drawbacks of urbanization. With more and more people coming in, the pressure on already limited resources of cities is increasing. Furthermore, the huge traffic jams, overcrowded public transport in the metropolitan are some perfect examples of the problems caused by this trend. In addition to this, rapid urbanization has not only resulted in inflation in real estate but also to higher the pollution levels in the cities, hence making the living there expensive as well as unhealthy. In conclusion, better employment opportunities and lifestyle has made the people come to the cities, however,the problems like pollution, traffic congestion, overcrowdedness, inflation extra caused by this has made city life not so fancy.