To recent popularity of online shopping will result in the end of high street shops. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of the Internet and social media networks, online shopping has become more popular among people. Although some feel that this trend is causing the end of high street shops, I, however, believe that high street shops are still popular among people in three main areas. Firstly, with shopping from traditional shops, the instant accessibility to purchased items is much better. While I concede that ordering from home is more comfortable than going to a shopping centre, the problem is that buying from online shops makes you worried about when it will be delivered to you. Another factor is online retailers are not actually cheaper than traditional shops. Many supporters of online shopping claim that online shops sell their goods cheaper than street shops. However, I would argue that when you have added the cost of shipping, there is often very little difference in price between the two. Finally, online shops can never offer you the same experience as shops give to you. When you buy online, you have to rely on the accuracy of either a written description or a photo to make your purchasing choice. Obviously, this cannot compare to the experience of entering a shop and physically seeing and touching the product. For instance, you buy a T-shirt from an online shop, but this T-shirt doesn’t fit you and the online shop isn’t responsible for this situation, while in shops, you can wear T-shirts of different sizes to find the best one for yourself. In conclusion, the fact that street shops are no more expensive than their online equivalents, and they offer a better in-shop experience means I believe that they are in no danger of disappearing soon.