Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals believe that advertisements are still able to have people’s attention, whereas others think that this is not the case anymore. I strongly agree with the former view; this essay will discuss both views before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, adverts can still convince customers to buy a certain product depending on its creativity. Advertisements that highlight the features of the products creatively by enhanced graphics and catchy phrases can encourage people to purchase. For instance, a recent survey showed that people are attracted to visual commercials that have songs and colorful backgrounds as well as the way they present the characteristics of the material that is displayed. As a result, this may boost a particular company’s sales, and it may increase the purchasing rates of customers. On the other hand, it is argued that being bombarded with commercials everywhere we go has made a lot of people no longer interested in them. This is because adverts have become prevalent, from advertisements on Youtube to huge billboards in the streets. Moreover, many of them have been lacking creativity, and most of the advertisements have become similar. For example, a recent study has shown that over 40% of people skip watching the commercials that pop up during online searching. As a consequence, this has led many people to believe that advertising is not as effective as they used to be. In conclusion, although some people suggest that advertising has lost its power to persuade people to buy goods, in my opinion, the more creative and organized an advert is, the more people it will attract and there will be more buying.