Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that old people should be supported by their younger family members when they become disabled or financially unable to look after themselves. This essay agrees completely with that statement and urges society to take care of our elders. It is conspicuous that younger family members should be the first involved when a family member becomes incapable of taking care of himself because of health issues or financial problems. This is because those people used to bring up their children too and, for many of them, it was a heavy burden for years. Indeed, raising a kid costs a lot, and logically, the least that children can do to return the favour is to look after their parents when they reach an advanced age. Furthermore, this rule is applied in several nations such as Morocco, where youngsters support their parents when they get sick and are completely dependent on someone else. On the other hand, it wouldn't be fair and relevant to make people responsible for their elders alone.In fact, citizens are not trained to look after ill people, especially when they need a specific treatment. For this matter, it would be pertinent to involve the government too because of the fact that disabled patients are in need of professionals in healthcare such as nurses, who will look after them with convenience. Overall, supporting, expenditures to support a disabled person may be a too heavy load for households. In this regard, it would be relevant for governmental institutions to financially support families which feature an old sick citizen.In Germany for example, families who take care of an aged parent benefit from financial subventions from their government. In conclusion, It is crystal clear that young family members have the duty to look after their elders because those people gave their all to raise them. However, the government should also contribute by providing financial support.