Some people think art such as sculpture and music cannot improve the quality of people’s lives so the government should not spend money on them but on health and defence. What is your opinion?

21st century has seen numerous technological advancements, most significant are in health and defence. People argue that art fund should go to medical and in the protection of the nation. In my opinion, arts improves mental health and government keep a portion for its funding. In this essay, the importance of arts and why the government should keep funding will be discussed. To begin with, it is evident from the past that art makes people mentally sound. Art like sculptures enhance creativity and give a better understanding of the culture whereas music alleviates stress. For example, a study of Oxford University, London eludes that by listening to music the stress levels go down by 50% in an individual. Thus, art like statues and music improve people’s lives in the mental sense. On the other hand, even if the government diluted art fund into health and defence, it will have no significant effect on them. Government ’s fund is largely composed of medical and arms for forces and craft is only a tiny bit of the budget. For instance, In India’s budget, craft has only 0.1% of the budget which is insignificant for other sectors. Hence, the government should keep the craft’s fund as it is now. In Summary, even though a portion of the population thinks that arts do not enhance the quality of life and its funds should be invested in other sectors. I strongly believe that music and sculptures enrich life in many ways. If the craft is kept alive, future generations could have a glimpse of the current lifestyle and conditions which will help improve their understanding of their past and culture.