Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Several nations have an objective to enhance their living condition by their economic growth, however, as a consequence of it, their social values are laid away. I thin the merits of the aforementioned situation outnumber its demerits. Both advantages and disadvantages will be discussed in the essay below with relevant examples. To begin with, improving the standard of living is aimed by various countries by developing economically which has a lot of benefits as this development generates great funding within a country which can be leveraged for increasing the employment opportunities, facilitating the poor and underprivileged section with all necessary amenities. For example, the government of India has set up many industries in urban areas to create jobs and is even endorsing several entrepreneurship plans with financial support, moreover, it has also initiated a ration-card program to provide grocery and all essential goods to the lower class of the society. So, growing in this way bestows a nation with an opportunity to focus on its weaknesses. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks of the economic growth by various nations focussing to better their living conditions as it leads to the loss of their social values as in the quest of thrift, these parts of the world are engaging in illegal trades, exchanges of drugs and precious gems which although are adding significant sums of money to their finances but is not an appropriate method of gaining them. Furthermore, such moral slide is setting wrong examples in front of the individuals of these nations as they even imbibe these ideas to flourish. For instance, a person started an unauthorized trade of drugs to empower his business and to buy himself more luxurious assets. In a nutshell, in order to enhance the lifestyle standards, many countries are working on economic development which is aiding them to uplift their weaker sections and assisting their movement towards a better future. Nevertheless, with several advantages, it has a few disadvantages as well since these enhancements are resulting in a moral slide and persuading people to engage in illegitimate exchanges.