Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

How children spend their free time will have an incredible impact on children's development in the future. While some people believe that children should be given sufficient free time for their own management, others put more priority on the importance of the role of parents. I generally agree with the former view as it leads to the growing power of self-management. On the one hand, children should be responsible for their acts in their free time as they are able to gain diverse skills and knowledge, which are essential in everyday life. In other words, they are more encouraged to make individual plans, cooperate, and solve various issues by themselves through different activities and plays. For instance, children are encouraged to organize their play to their altering needs and mediate friends if some conflicts should occur. Likewise, they will naturally learn to establish intimate relationships as they respect mutual opinions in their disagreements. They should be patient enough to control themselves in order to achieve the common goals on their own if they are given much free time. Not being able to rely on their parents makes them more independent and matured as they overcome a number of difficulties through many trials and errors. On the other hand, regardless of the primary roles of children in managing their free time for their development, supervision from parents is important to some extent to prevent their selfish acts. For example, many children at an early age are not able to keep promises to their parents and often end up playing video games for an excessive amount of time. Furthermore, their inability to self discipline brings negative consequences including deteriorating eyesight and shorter attention spans. This leads to poor academic performance since many children are immature enough to put regulations on their own acts. Therefore, parents ' intervention to manage children's schedules is essential for their better growth from both perspectives of education and health. In conclusion, various social skills will be promoted when children are given the authority to manage their free time. They are encouraged to be more responsible and independent through interaction with friends and diverse experiences. However, parents should pay careful attention to their acts to ensure their safety and well-being.