Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Over the last few years, learning foreign languages has become increasingly common. While some people think that all pupils have to begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school, others believe that it should be postponed to secondary school. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide my opinion why I support the earlier view. On the one hand, people who think that a foreign language should be learnt at primary school might argue that this has two main advantages. The most important one is that it will be more opportune. Since pupils have the ability to learn new subjects very well at an early age, it would be more effective to start learning a second language at primary school. Furthermore, this will help children to gain higher levels of proficiency in it. For example, in Algeria, all pupils have to learn both Arabic and French from 6 years old, therefore, all Algerians can communicate in French just like a native speaker. On the other hand, some people still argue that learning a foreign language at high school is more advantageous. This is because if a child learns two languages at the same time, it will be difficult for him to master both of them. Consequently, this may negatively affect his mother tongue. Seldom does this occur if he focuses only on one language. In addition, during high school, students can easily decide which language they are interested in learning according to their future plans. For instance, if a student is planning to continue his university education in Italy, he will choose to study Italian as his second language. In conclusion, although some people might argue that a second language should be taught at high school, I believe that the earlier children learn it, the better results they will gain, especially in such a globalized era.