In the developed world, the average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging population.

The average life span increases in advanced economies, which may cause devastating effects on society. Nevertheless, there exist methods that can solve this tough issue. Having more and more aged population will bring about several drawbacks. First off, the cost of health care will augment. If elders who do not work take up a major proportion of the total population, governments would have to invest more money collected from young taxpayers on these people, which may burden authorities. So to get rid of unnecessary costs, governments probably would improve the threshold of health care, thus augmenting the overall expenditures of health care for ordinary citizens. Additionally, an ageing population can result in a lack of labour. For example, many developed nations in western Europe have reported recently that they are in sore need of workers because many employees have just got retired. But, various approaches can be adopted to address this thorny question. On the one hand, governments can encourage older staffs to work by lifting the minimum retirement age. Getting them continuously employed can not only release governments from heavy pension expenses but also can let the senior citizens contribute to nations. On the other hand, an amiable immigration policy should be implemented. By recruiting oversea labours who are generally cheaper than indigenous citizens to work at local places, it is possible for the governments to flourish again. In conclusion, while the increasing amount of aged people can certainly lead to intractable consequences, by adopting the aforementioned measures, they can be defused without striking a blowing.