some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things, other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is now common knowledge that the advert of goods and services is a simple way of encouraging many to purchase wares, while others are of the notion that commercials have no impact on their choice of merchandise. This essay would discuss both views, though I am of the opinion that these notices on wares impact our choices to a large extent. The advent of a new commodity brought to our notice either via social media, billboard or other means directly or indirectly influence our choices, as these items are registered in our subconscious. Hence, when we go to the market place, we already have a biased mind and pick goods we recently came in contact with. Commercials also have an effect on the little children as they are easily impressionable with the colourful and glamorous scheme the companies employ. Children enforce parents to get a particular brand they were recently exposed to. For instance, a child who saw an advert of kiddies chocolate would immediately pick it up at any given opportunity and cry until its paid for. This explains further the persuasive effect of promotion on the mind, it's an indirect approach which is highly productive. On the other hand, promotions of goods are ignored entirely by some marketers because brands are promoted rather than the quality of products. A number of times, it's been found that the nature of items have been compromised, but remain in the market because of high demands following sales. For example, shea butter cream which had no place in the social media in the '90s, but had a very high moisturizing quality is now known all over for its branded name with poor quality. A number of junk food, cigarette and alcohol are also put in the media, these promote bad choices in children, thus parents may decide to put a ban on an advert in homes. In conclusion, my opinion remains, commercials bring an awareness of goods and services to our doorstep, hence, the pressure to be biased in the marketplace.