Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Family relationships have always been a controversial topic because the level of communication is hard to quantify exactly. In my opinion, I agree that family members share less about their lives. First of all, the most well-known reason is that many people leave their hometowns to work in different cities or countries. Migration is a trend, thus many parents stay in rural areas while their offsprings move out looking for work far away. The physical distance may affect the effectiveness of conversations because people do not see others face to face. As the result, many will not be able to reach out to their close ones for a long time. The generation gap is also an explanation for the issue. While youngsters want to express their personalities and freedom, seniors may not agree with their behaviours. Seniors have a tendency of restricting their juniors from doing what they like, which leads to conflicts and they can be difficult to resolve. Moreover, with increasing work hours, many do not have time for other activities such as catching up with their relatives. Therefore, they may not up to date with others' hobbies or interests. Many people may argue that the development of technology help to improve communication since it is easy to make long-distance calls or send messages for family members. While I agree with the ease of use, many seniors may have difficulties to learn how to use the devices, so for me, it is not a way to improve communication for family members. To conclude, I believe that it is harder to keep in touch with relatives because of the distance between living and generation gap. Each individual need to try spending more time for others if they want to fix the issue.