In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, crime has became a global issue and it is increasing at an alarming rate. I believe major reasons behind this are lack of education and unemployment rates. To resolve this problem, the government should come up with employment opportunities and free education for people in the breadline. Nowadays, the crime rates are enormous due to the lack of basic education and jobs. Education plays a significant role in shaping the behavioural pattern of people, which in turn makes them to understand the true meaning of their deeds. However, in developing countries the vast majority of population are illiterate, which has a deleterious impact on the society. In addition to this, as it is rightly said, “An idle mind is a devil’s workshop", when people are without jobs, they tend to steal or go to any extreme to full fill their basic needs. As a result, they take crime as an option to acquire all the richness in life. To tackle these predicaments, the government should take initiatives to provide free primary education to all people regardless of the status in the society, particularly in rural areas. This would bring a drastic change in i ndividual’s mind and thinking ability. Moreover, the government should bring forth a plethora of job options so that each and every individual will have his earning, that might not force him to think in a crooked way. Similarly, the government can come up with compensations. In lieu of compensation, people should be made to do social and community work. In conclusion, there is an whopping increase in the crime levels due to illiteracy and unemployment, which could be eradicated by the adequate measures of the government in the form of providing free primary education to all, and by creating jobs opportunities.