Getting promotion is one of the biggest drivers for people to apply themselves and work hard in the modern work place. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? What other factors influence people to work hard?

The latest research shows that on the major driving force, which keeps employees fully engaged in performing duties and responsibilities, at a ask is the increment or promotion to the next level. This essay will explore why this is the case and whether there are other factors which contribute to workers' motivation at the job. Promotion is a motivating factor for associates because of several reasons. Firstly, it offers a raise in salary which in turn helps them in raising the living standard. For instance, when I promoted from accountant to accounts manager I sold my old car and bought the latest model of Toyota Camry. Thus, it motivates me to work even harder in future for the next level. Furthermore, by promoting employer is not only offering financial rewards but also recognising employee's effort. This respect also keeps associate going further in the career. On the other hand, meaning or passion in the work is the other factors which push people to fully apply themselves. If a person thinks that his company is doing a noble work, such as eliminating poverty or providing clean solar energy, he is more likely to find meaning in his work. For example, according to the latest survey NGO's employees are seen happier and hardworking because they believe the organisation is uplifting the people from poverty. In addition, some people fully engage themselves at work simply because it is their passion. An artist does not need an increment to produce his best masterpiece, but he does it because he finds it joyful to express himself. To conclude, although promotion seems to be one of the major factors that keeps associate engaged at work, there are other factors, such as passion and meaning in the ask, which are equally important. Therefore, I would suggest that corporations should not focus on the perks and increments only, but also consider other factors which help their employees to work even harder for the organisation.