Some people think that the Government should decide which subjects ,students should study at university while others think that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer.Disscuss the two views and give your opinion.

Education is the most important pillar of a person's life and any decisions pertaining to this should be his own. Some may believe that the government should decide which subjects the students should course. Whereas, some people think that they should have their own consent and preferred while opting for any subject. Nowadays, students have different interests and choices for studying a particular subject. They are more inclined towards the course which motivates them and keeps them intrigued. Example - Earlier in India, we were allowed to choose streams of study out of 2 choices (Science and Commerce). Whereas now, we have many other options available according to the person's choice. This paradigm shift reflects the inclination of people towards their interests. And this has impacted for the betterment of ourselves and future generations. Government intervention in the choice of subjects will remain conventional and nothing out of the box can be taught to the students. Innovation will go obsolete if students will never go an extra mile ahead just to choose what they want to study and end up having the expertise of the same. Though, government decision on the choices of the subject will mark the benchmark to study for all the students but will restrict people to choose the subject of their preferences. Therefore, I'll conclude by giving my opinion on the same. Subjects should always be a choice of the student studying the same. Unless and until if a subject doesn't allure the student, it won't help him achieve expertise in the same. The Government should not intervene in deciding the subject.