Researchers show that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, advertising for food products should be banned in the same way as the cigarette advertising is banned in many countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Overeating has been one of the serious problems in some developed countries nowadays. According to some research, we find that over 90 per cent of developed countries in the world have been facing the problem of overeating. In response to this situation, some people state that we need to ban advertising for food products in the same way as cigarette advertising. This essay considers this statement and gives the author's opinion. First and foremost, eating itself is not so much unhealthy as smoking. The points are what we eat and how much amount of food we have. Even if they are healthy diets, eating too much of them will cause several problems such as high blood pressure and the rise of sugar in our blood. While smoking will directly lead to worsening public health, eating does not necessarily make health issues happen immediately. Therefore, I think that stopping food companies from advertising their items is an extreme option. In addition, there are a great number of companies selling food products in the world. Thus, banning advertising such products in the same way as cigarette advertisements will have a negative impact on not only those companies but also the world's economy. In this sense, I strongly disagree with the idea that we should restrict their marketing process. Rather, each local authority must introduce lessons about their diets to their citizens. Moreover, they can promote food donations for those who cannot get enough food because of a lack of money. To sum up, the issue of overeating in some developed countries has been getting serious. However, banning the marketing of food items is an extreme option. Each society needs to think of creating opportunities for its citizens to reconsider their way of having food.