Many scientific discoveries are often considered to be irrelevant to ordinary people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

It is believed that numerous scientific discoveries have no impact on the lives of ordinary people, meaning they can be considered ‘irrelevant.’ Although some discoveries can be of questionable value, many scientific explorations helped countries and people improve the quality of life. It is true that some scientific pursuits are not likely to help ordinary people in any way. Even major explorations such as space research can at times seem a waste of money. It can also be argued that the purpose of such research is not related to the benefit of a regular human. For example, even if space travel becomes possible, it will first be available to the rich and powerful. Apart from space research, there are other examples of scientific studies that usually lead to no changes in people ’s lives. The study of coffee, for instance, is a controversial one since there are constantly changing conclusions on its effect on health. However, those who drink usually continue anyway, regardless of a new scientific fact. Nevertheless, science is what pushes this planet to improve, and many scientific discoveries have changed the world for the better. Electricity, the Internet, vaccinations, antibiotics, and DNA are just some examples of how a scientific discovery does change the lives of ordinary people, even if they were meant for a particular group or purpose. For this reason, scientific research should be supported, but to make sure it benefits people in general, governing bodies should monitor the process of research better. In other words, the power to explore science should not only be in the hands of the private sector or wealthy donors. In conclusion, even though some discoveries and pursuits can be of doubtful value, many scientific outcomes are relevant and important. They have the power to change the lives of not only the rich and powerful but also ordinary people, too.