In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s generation, people often prefer buying their day-to-day necessities from attractive and lavish looking places. Due to this, individuals hop to supermarkets and showrooms by abandoning the local markets and cause them to shut down. In my opinion, this is not a positive impact and later may lead to the devastating condition of short-term businesses families. Firstly, the elevating demand for malls have caused the local sellers to level-up and provide additional discounts to sell their products. Because of this soaring demand, the seller had no other option but to sell at a lesser profit margin or no profit. For example, to sell a product sometimes costs paying from their own pockets. For this reason, they choose to permanently close their well-settled bricks and mortal and let buyers fulfil their needs by shopping in the more attractive places. Secondly, lots of local shop owners face financial debts due to non-profit business. Therefore, to clear their dues demands putting their children education at stake and families faces a challenging life ahead. Thus, this latter questions country’s economy. For instance, sellers who have a bulk of products left to sell but have no shop to showcase due to the debts are the one’s that require support. To conclude, people should consider buying from local shops and help balance the country’s economy. Moreover, the attraction should not be the focus but the quality of a product.