Some people think that it is best to save money, for example in a bank or savings scheme. Other people feel that money should be spent whenever it is available. Discuss these views and reach an opinion on this debate. Give reasons for your answer, and support your essay with ideas and examples from your own experience.

Nowadays, people argue whether to save money or to spend it to their heart's content as soon as the paycheck arrives. Both of these statements are reasonable and I will discuss them in this essay. On the one hand, many enjoy splurging their income the moment they receive it as it gives them a thrill of spontaneity. This behaviour is justifiable as it gives them instant gratification, which could often be addictive. For instance, often when people give in to the urge of spending money, there is a dopamine rush leading to instantaneous pleasure. Moreover, people who spend most of what they earn right away can afford a higher standard of living, leading to more thrill and comfort. Conversely, people often save money as it provides them with a sense of security for the future. Additionally, this sense of security is not only limited to current conditions, but also allows people to put aside money for medical emergencies or an investment plan. For instance, people are said to have less stress-related illnesses when they are reassured by their savings account. Furthermore, saving money helps with vacation plans since they are able to accurately budget and plan for a trip they would enjoy. This acts as supplementation to the, already strong, sense of security that saving money offers. To conclude, the excitement that spending money right away provides cannot be overlooked. However, I believe, saving money is of utmost importance, as it provides financial security and serves well incase of medical emergencies.