The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last few years, using pre-prepared meals has become a trend among people in many nations, since they are trying to cope with their fast-paced life. This essay will discuss the merits of this issue and provide my opinion why I believe that its demerits are superior. To begin with, the availability of such convenience foods has numerous advantages. To illustrate, due to the fact that life has become very expensive, many people are forced to work overtime to be able to survive and secure their basic necessities. Consequently, they often consider these pre-prepared foods as the ideal solution that suits their work hours and circumstances. Another possible advantage is that many students often opt to travel abroad to continue their studies. Thus, not only do they not have time to cook but also many of them hardly know how to prepare simple dishes. Hence, foods which are commercially pre-cooked might be the best option for certain individuals. However, despite the above-mentioned advantages, convenience food has greater disadvantages. This is because they can contribute to many serious diseases. For instance, most of these packed foods contain a huge amount of oils which cause many dangerous diseases, such as heart failures. Additionally, since they contain a lot of conservatives which help increase their shelf life, they may lead to disastrous consequences on people’s physical and mental health. Indeed. Protecting people’s health is, undoubtedly, more crucial than saving their time or efforts. In conclusion, although using pre-prepared meals can save working individuals’ time, I still believe that their disadvantages far outweigh their advantages because they have the potential to damage people’s health. 275