Scientists believe that by studying the behavior of 3 years old children, we can predict if that child can become a criminal in the future. To what extent is the crime a product of human nature? Is it possible to stop children from growing to be a criminal?

The psychology and behaviour of the toddlers are the results of the interaction between their nature and nurture, which could reflect their personality traits in the future. That’s why the behavioural problems during the first five years are believed to be associated with children’s future antisocial and criminal tendencies. However, I assume that biological factor just has trivial impacts on their development and should not be considered as the potential sign of future delinquency. According to recent researches, delinquents share some similar personality traits in their childhood that can help foretell their criminality. Generally, these individuals were more aggressive and disruptive than their peers when they were kids. For these reasons, it is understandable why some scientists contend that observing individuals' early years can help predict their antisocial tendencies. Nevertheless, compared to extrinsic elements, genetic characteristics appear to be less influential on youngsters’ psychology and cognition. Primarily, upbringing and education at a young age are considered as fundamental elements for shaping their cognition. That’s why children who are rejected by their parents, grow up in homes with considerable conflict, and are inadequately supervised are at the greatest risk of becoming delinquents. Furthermore, studies also show that children educated in friendly and open schools would conform to the norms and values that schools promote, thereby reducing their probability of antisocial behaviour. In conclusion, external rather than internal factors would exert heavy influences on the mindset of children; therefore, early intervention and adjustment should be offered to orientate them not to commit crimes in their adulthood.