In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering form health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent to you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the current era, more and more people are deteriorating their health by the overconsumption of high calories junk food. I firmly agree that governing bodies must enforce higher tax ratios on these food items so that people well being could be safeguarded. Higher tax rates mean less sale of poor nutrition food. When the government apply high tax brackets on such items, edibles prices will go up and people will deviate towards more healthy food. According to a recent study in Saudi Arabia, after imposing a higher value-added tax on the sugar, soft drink prices went up, leading to less consumption of carbonated drinks in the restaurants. Thus, it is clear how the demand and prices of the items are directly linked, higher prices mean fewer purchases. Another point is that additional money collected in the form of taxes can be spent on educating the people. If the government spend this budget on educational campaigns, the public will have a better knowledge of the food ' nutritional value. As a result, they would be in a better position to make an informed decision about what to buy and what to avoid. For instance, those countries, such as Norway and Sweden, which educate their children from a young age about the importance of eating healthy their young generation makes more rational choices when they grow up. Therefore, food education has a vital role to play in a person's fitness. To conclude, an increasing number of people are suffering from the hazards of fried food and high calories soft drinks which have very little nutritional value to offer. After thoroughly analyzing the situation, I would suggest that the health ministry must recommend increasing the prices of such items so that people buy them less and money collected can be spent on the public health awareness campaigns.