In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

In the last few years, crimes’ stories in novels and TV shows have gained an immense popularity among people. This essay will discuss the possible causes of this issue and provide my opinion why I believe that this genre has negative effects on society. To begin with, there are many factors which may lead to this popularity. The most fundamental one is that youngsters tend to admire activities which cause a drenaline rush. This is why they are usually big fans of this genre which enables them to find the excitement that they lack in their real life. Another possible reason is that crime incidents are increasing dramatically. Therefore, production companies try to present realistic problems and stories to raise the public awareness about them. Despite the above mentioned causes of this publicity, I still believe that crime dramas and novels have detrimental impacts on society. For instance, it has been proven that many crimes are committed by teenagers in the same way similar ones were committed in movies. In other words, they just imitate what they had seen or perhaps they had got the idea of how to commit it from a movie or drama series. Additionally, crime scenes contribute directly to the increasing violence between children in schools.Indeed, the more citizens are exposed to such a genre, the more crime incidents will be in the society. In conclusion, some people prefer this exciting genre which production companies use to help increase awareness about crimes as well. However, I think that its disadvantages are more serious because it adversely affects the safety of society.