Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion

The advancement of technology has led to the growing dependence on social media. Even though, this has helped us expand our social network, it has also promoted a tendency of self - isolation and awkwardness during physical interactions. I agree with this statement and this essay will give relevant reasons to support my opinion. Firstly, the continuous use of social media platforms has led to a habit of connecting with people virtually. This has further resulted in changing our behavioral habits of socially interacting with one another and hence, makes an in person conversation with someone challenging and difficult. Consequently, virtual platforms are extremely addictive and have reduced our concentration levels of participating in society with people around; as it is often noticed that we are still active on these tools during social events. For instance, Facebook and Instagram users are often observed posting pictures and videos during a live gathering rather than enjoying the moment with people present during that occasion; such instances usually occur during moments of total silence. Secondly, communicating through social media is often misleading and does not portray the correct picture of who we are in reality. This might result in an embarrassing meeting with someone because of which they might shy away from a face to face interaction. For example, profiles created on dating or matrimonial websites cannot completely depict who these people really are and therefore, only a non-virtual meet can reveal their true personality and character. In conclusion, although social media platforms help us connect with many people virtually, it has adversely affected our ability to interact with the world physically and is also fails to represent our individuality.