Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries. What are the causes of obesity? Discuss the possible alarming effects of this problem in the near future?

In recent times, obesity amongst young children has become a growing concern across the globe. This has been a constant issue that the world has been grappling with and hence, needs immediate attention. This essay will discuss some of the major reasons causing this problem along with the possible impact it might have on the upcoming generations. Firstly, the primary causes that can lead to weight gain are lack of exercise, poor diet and inherent genetics. As we know, school children these days prefer eating fast food which is extremely unhealthy in the long run and leads to body fat. Furthermore, poor genetics and lack of physical activities also reduce the metabolic rate in the body; which not only increases the fat percentage but also leads to unhealthy weight gain. For instance, it is noticed that consumption of sugary drinks coupled with an unhealthy eating pattern is highly popular amongst students during school hours which further causes obesity. On the other hand, obesity can lead to adverse physical and mental effects on a child. Being overweight can cause several health hazards such as high blood pressure, heart-related problems and cholesterol amongst children at a very young age. Consequently, this phenomenon can affect the child mentally by making them fall into the trap of depression, inferiority complex and reduced memorizing ability. As a result, this not only leads to a disturbing environment for children but also affects their academic progress. In conclusion, obesity across kids is a continuous challenge that many countries are dealing with and can detrimentally impact a child’s health and mental stability. Hence, we must encourage a healthy lifestyle across school students to reduce and eradicate this issue.