For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extend do you agree?

The computer has been playing an indispensable role in people’s life since last few decades. Some people opine that the computer should also be made a part of formal education. As per my perspective, I completely agree with the assertion and believe computer to be a vital part of the economic growth and prosperity of the country. First and the foremost, the conjunction of computer and internet is a source of limitless information for the students and can save their precious time, which they can utilize. For example, the pupil generally has to go through enormous volumes of books and journals to get much-needed data. Furthermore, the computer has simplified this procedure and information is available at a few clicks within a fraction of seconds, thereby saving students time for other academic and co-curricular related activities. The second explanation in support of the view is, the computer at an elementary level can help graduate to master basic processing tools like Microsoft work, presentation and notepad. Consequently, this can help them not only during their education but also in their adulthood. Moreover, a teacher can incorporate audio-visual aids in teaching thus promoting better understanding among students. For instance, listening to a topic can be a boring and tedious task, therefore pedagogical tools such as presentations and animations can raise the interest of students. Lastly, the computer enhances the creativity of students. In other words, students can interact with other students around the world and can share ideas, collaborate and work on projects. This social interaction can enhance their knowledge about the current technological trends going around the world, thus boosting their creativity skills. To put it in a nutshell, the inclusion of computer technology can be a boon to education. Being a tool of infotainment, it can cultivate creativity and learn among the students in a much better way.