Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air polution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Pollution is increasing at an alarming rate, strict actions are required to put a check on this. Many think that an international car-free day can help in bringing down the carbon emissions, while others say there are a lot of different ways to make the air cleaner. I am of opinion that instead of one single day, continuous efforts are required to reduce emissions. Although, the global car-free day is a good idea, however, it will not make the dent which is required at the moment. For example, during the ovid lockdown, the pollution reduced drastically in India, but it was back to where it was once the lockdown was opened. Likewise, banning vehicles for 24 hours will not help. It will definitely help in creating awareness among people regarding the environment across the globe. On the other hand, constant attempts are needed by each one of us if we want to eradicate pollution from the environment. For example, electric vehicles should be introduced at a cheaper price. Currently, battery-operated vehicles are very expensive, not everyone can afford to buy them.The public transport system should be improved in every country to refrain people from using their cars for commuting. Renewable sources of energy should be used instead of sources which emit a lot of carbon dioxide. To conclude, the universal car-free day is a good idea, however, continuous efforts are required to make the air breathable. I strongly believe that people should move toward e-vehicles and public transport leaving behind petrol and diesel guzzling cars.