Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries. What are the causes of obesity? Discuss the possible alarming effects of this problem in the near future?

Obesity amongst children is a growing concern that the world has been grappling with and hence, requires immediate attention. This essay will initially discuss some the major causes of this problem, followed by the possible impact that it might have on our future generation. Firstly, some of the primary causes leading to weight gain are lack of exercise, poor diet and inhering genetics. It is a known fact that school students prefer consuming fast food that increases fat deposits in the body. Furthermore, poor genetics coupled with lack of physical activity not only reduces metabolism, but further leads to unhealthy weight gain. For instance, consumption of sugary drinks and junk food is highly popular among students in school canteens which give rise to obesity. On the other hand, this condition can also have an alarming impact on the physical as well as mental health of a child. Consequently, health hazards such as high blood pressure, heart related problems and increased cholesterol levels are common problems that overweight teenagers face. In addition, issues related to depression, inferiority complex and reduced memorizing ability are mental implications faced by obese youngsters. As a result, this not only leads to a disturbing environment for children, but also affects their academic progress. To illustrate, overweight children often face social challenges such as bullying and body shaming which can be mentally detrimental. In conclusion, obesity in children is a growing concern globally which leads to physical and mental ailments. Hence, it highly imperative to safeguard our next generation by encouraging a healthy lifestyle so that we can reduce and eradicate this problem.