With the increase in the use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree? How important do you think is letter-writing?

The popularity of high-tech gadgets such as computers or mobile phones has dramatically changed the way people communicating. That is why some argue that handwritten letters will no longer be used and entirely vanish. While I accept that letter-writing would be detrimentally affected by new kinds of communication, I would argue that traditional writing technique cannot be died out no matter how advanced technology is. To begin with, it cannot be denied that letter-writing has lost its grip in modern life. First, sending text via smartphones or laptops is much easier and more convenient than writing letters. Short messages are typed, sent, and immediately received within a minute. By contrast, the traditional process of sending letters required more steps and time as well as the shipping fee. Additionally, more and more apps offer users convenient functions that help correct vocabulary and grammatical mistakes automatically when composing text documents; therefore, could improve their writing skills. However, it is a crude and simple thought when assuming that traditional letter-writing technique will definitely disappear. First and foremost, writing is a vital skill. To be more specific, the style of text messages or emails is different from that of paper letters; therefore, it cannot be used in formal papers. Therefore, people still need to learn traditional writing technique when composing important documents such as confirmation or motivation letters. Moreover, a handwritten letter is considered as a remembrance item that transfers the emotion and sincerity between the sender and the receiver. In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that handwritten letters still play a special role in modern life and cannot be replaced by any other kind of communication.