Some people think the government should pay for health care and education, but other people claim that it is the individual‘s responsibility. Do you agree or disagree?

Healthcare and education are integral to the concept of social equality which governments strive to achieve. While some believe that these are fundamental rights of citizens and should be provided for by the governments, others view these as personal liabilities to be taken care by the individuals themselves. I strongly favour the former view and provide support for my opinion in this essay. Firstly, the availability of efficient and timely medical assistance is key to healthy people and healthy societies. If this service is not provided as a public service, and instead one has to spend for it, it would result in non-uniform medical coverage of population depending upon their economic situation, which means rich people will easily afford life-saving treatments and poor, disabled and old citizens will be at the disadvantageous end of the bargain resulting in unequal societies favouring its richer folks. Thus, medical services should be considered as fundamental civil services to be sponsored by the government. Secondly, if education is to be taken care by individuals then chances of this service getting commercialized for benefits increase manifolds and again odds get stacked against the lower-income population. For example, well-off citizens will get access to good schooling on the basis of funding and not-so-well doing folks will be deprived of it and will stay at the bottom of the economic ladder due to lack of it, thereby promoting more inequality in the society. Hence, like healthcare, education should also be counted as a basic privilege to be provided by the government. To sum up, both education and healthcare are basic citizen rights and governments should be responsible for providing these services to their citizens.