In many parts of the world, families were larger in the past because people had more children. Do you think there were more advantages or disadvantages to being part of a large family in the past?

Families in modern life were smaller than in the past because people had less children. Although this had several drawbacks, the advantages of it were far more significant. There were some disadvantages to being a part of a large family. To begin with, they might have arguments in financial issues due to the greater amount of money that was required for the caring of children. This stems from the fact that one of the parents had to stay at home to look after their children. As a result, parents earned less and found it difficult to pay for all their kids’ education as well as other activities. In this way, they suffered from stress which could put on all family members. Moreover, being a part of a large family discouraged children from doing what they wanted to do. This meant that they did not have their own space for individuals’ interest. For instance, when one sibling turned on a song but the other did not want to hear it. Therefore, they would argue with each other and this could have a negative effect on their relationship. However, being a member of a large family could have some benefits which overshadow these negative impacts. Firstly, children could support each other. To be more specific, although they could always fight with each other, they would be ready and willing to defend a sibling against bullies or comfort each other after a hard day. This was a perfectly designed system full of close bonds and love that they can rely on and land when there was difficulty in life. Secondly, kids could learn how to build relationships. With a person to play or fight with on a regular basis, they learnt how to get along, bounce back after disagreements, work together and how to share. This made it easier for them to be successful in life. In conclusion, despite the downsides that being a part of a large family in the past could bring, it still did more good than harm.