Q: Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, digitalization has given rise to various internet-related frauds. It has been observed that people share their private information to IT firms in return to use certain applications. This trend has proved to be the root cause of numerous cybercrime-related issues and therefore, possesses more demerits than merits. In this essay, we will understand a few shortcomings of this trend. Firstly, by providing access to our private data to the technology firms, we open ourselves for humongous possibilities of crime. In other words, since the company can access our phone data, it can also see ones' private details such as photographs, social media identity and password, bank passwords and therefore, can lead to an offence like identity theft, bank fraud. For instance, 2 months back, one of my online vendor did some unauthorized transactions from my bank account as they had my banking info saved at their website. Secondly, these information technology organizations sell the captured data to other companies to use. Moreover, selling customer info has become one of the leading revenue-generating business models these days. To illustrate, we receive sales calls such as for online shopping, for buying credit-card, buying properties. Have we ever thought from where do these firms get our contact details? They basically, buying it from the companies who already have captured our data from our mobile phones. To conclude, by providing personal information to technology firms one can get prone to cyber threats like identity theft, fund frauds and will also have their info shared with various other companies for business purposes.