Some people state arts courses such painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students .To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by a selection of individuals that a subject like art which is about painting and drawing has to be out of the required subjects in high school learners. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this notion and my supporting reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. At the outset, there are several benefits that art courses will bring to students and one of the most significant is that they can apply and adapt it in their lives. To elaborate further, children can use creativity obtained by an art subject in main subjects such as Mathematics. Moreover, teenagers can do artwork to earn a living and therefore they will be able to indulge themselves by purchasing their own stuff. An apt illustration of this is that my 16-year-old cousin told me that he had learnt how to fold papers into shapes, for example, rectangular, triangle and circle and it had made him understand about the ratio and proportion in Mathematics classes. In addition, when he has free time, he always folds papers into a variety of shapes and sells them to his relatives; consequently, uses this money to by snacks. Additionally, another clear upside for students is the stage of wellness. To explain in greater detail, painting and drawing can be considered as the outlets of stress caused by compulsory courses, maintaining their mental health. Furthermore, arts can significantly improve physical health, especially, the coordination between the eyes and hands of teenagers. To specifically demonstrate, my youngest brother always gets stressed and depressed from his classes and hence when he comes back home, he regularly paints and draws something like scenic views or perspective pictures to reduce tension and relieve his stress. As a result, I can see that when it comes to something that needs the collaboration between eyes and hands, for instance, chopping vegetables, typing a keyboard, etc, his reaction is quite improved. All in all, it is undeniable that adding art subjects into compulsory courses in high schools can offer students with benefits. However, from my point of view, I disagree with this matter as art is an essential thing to teenagers because they can apply it to other subjects as well as making money. Likewise, it is a great way to promote their well-being, reduce stress and enhance the collaboration of organs.