Museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether museums and galleries ought to display artworks that is a heritage of their own nation is quite a debatable topic today. In my view, these institutions should have exhibitions sourced from all over the world. I will discuss the reasons why I cannot accept the argument and provide evidence for them. To begin, many argue that museums have the right to house local and national collections. The supporters of this argument always point out that tourists visiting a particular country and their art galleries are excited to experience the culture and artwork through looking at not international showpieces, but local. Furthermore, one clear example is an article written by The New York Times which surveyed over two hundred respondents to find out the main motive when visiting art facilities. Majority of the interviewee stated that they would be more interested in other countries' work. Although, I disagree with the aforementioned case, due to the fact that most of the community do not have the opportunity to travel and experience other cultures. So, with global exhibitions citizenry can acquire knowledge by examining the artwork from around the world. In addition, the former statement nurtures communication between different cultures and times which is essential for future generations to study these masterpieces, while enriching global identity. For example, this would teach young people awareness about other cultures, while also calling them to participate in the world. Hence, I believe that the advantages of presenting works originating from other countries outweigh the drawbacks. To conclude, in this essay I discussed the reasons why I believe that focusing on art pieces from all around the globe is essential to educate the nation about the history. As a result, more people can own global citizenship.