Some people think that the best way to do a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of family run business

Some individuals opine that the best method to carry out trade is with the family. This essay discusses the merits of co-operation and support for the success of the family-run business by all members and important skills learned by younger representatives, including the disadvantages of this trend. To begin with, the merits of running a family trade is that, we can trust all the employees blindly, as they are our family. Additionally, all members will put their efforts for the success of it. For instance, a family-run Ecommerce organisation named grocerybuy.com is being run by a family in India, which has a turnover of about 30 million rupees. Furthermore, in such businesses, all family representatives face together the ups and downs in the market and do not lose hope and overcome such tensed situations easily. Besides, the younger generation in the family can also learn management skill and can be ready to take over the family endeavour in the future. Despite the advantages, there are certain demerits. Firstly, there are certain family-run businesses, where younger family members do not enjoy their family-run work, they lose interest in such business and they start performing badly, which results in the company facing financial losses. Sometimes there occur clashes between the strategies and ideas of some family representatives, which creates a huge dilemma for the employees and workers to carry out their task. For example, recently the famous airline company which is being run by father and son duo has seen a great loss in the trade and sold their company to overcome losses. In conclusion, the advantages of family commerce are better co-operation and unity to achieve success in their work and the disadvantages like incapability of younger family representative in certain situations. Hence, the advantages of running a family business overshadow the disadvantages.