Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages.

In recent times, more and more chemical substances are being in the food cycle. I firmly believe that these artificial substances, whether used in the food growth cycle or to increase the product shelf life, are hazardous to our health and have more negative repercussions than their benefits. The increasing number of fertilizers, which are being used in the agriculture sector, are posing a great threat to our ecosystem. Farmers, nowadays, use a lot of pesticides and other products to increase the production capacity of their food. Although these chemicals have tripled the food output, they are damaging the natural habitat as well. For example, when these dangerous substances wash away with the rain into ponds, rivers and lakes, they pollute and poison the water. As a result, a lot of marine species are being endangered. Another reason which contributes to the large use of chemicals is to increase the useful life of the products. For instance, In supermarkets, we see a lot of food glass jars which have an expiry date of six months, this is only possible with the help with the latest preservatives added in them. While they provide us with an opportunity to eat our favourite fruits of the season, it carries a risk to human health. The latest studies often link the cause of cancer to the consumption of processed food which clearly includes a lot of taste enhancers and preservatives to attract customers. To conclude, the use of chemical substances in the production and preservation of edibles is unprecedented. After thoroughly analysing the situation, I would recommend we should limit the use of such substances as they are not only causing great damage to the environment but also becoming a source of many diseases.