Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public authorities and multi-national corporations contribute significantly to protect the environment while individuals are unable to enhance it. This essay entirely agrees with this statement because citizens' actions have minor impact on mitigating climate change. Government plays a vital role in protecting a planet from environmental changes. Not only does it force individuals to correct their actions that damage their environment, but also it enacts environmental policies and fines on large businesses. Hence, It holds the key to control the actions and the practices of individuals and companies and prevent them from destroying the earth. For example, the Holland government has made environmental reforms since 2009 because the level of air pollution increased gradually for the last ten years. Now, Holland succeeded in lowering the carbon dioxide emissions by forcing people to have one car for each family and issuing large fines on companies if their operations are not friendly environmental. Furthermore, companies have been considered one of the main factors for causing climate change. However, if they apply sustainability on their work, it will produce positive outcomes. for example, food factories could reduce the usage of packaging by using environmentally friendly material. Even though individuals try harder to keep their environment safe, their actions are not adequately effective in comparison with government and large companies. It is clear that the role of public authorities and corporations in upgrading the environment protection outweighs the role of individuals. For instance, if each person reduces his waste by 50%, there will be only two per cent reduction in pollution levels. This is not effective to overcome the climate changes. To sum up, the ultimate way to tackle environmental problems is through the active role of government and businesses. I believe that people's action does not add any important value to environmental improvements.