The car is possibly the most convenient and popular way of getting from A to B. However, due to its impact on environment and the risk it poses to pedestrians and motorists, government should take urgent steps to reduce our dependency on this mode of transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, the majority of people prefer to have their private vehicle, due to its convenience, rather than use public means of transportation. Despite this fact, there is a controversy on such a topic as a harmful impact of cars on the environment and the one possible way to solve this problem is government intervention. I believe that the measures introduced by the government will benefit the ecology. On the one hand, it is crucial to have an authority intervention to solve such an economic problem as a large number of emissions due to a high level of traffic. This is because by improving the quality of public transport not only could state encourage citizens to use more of it but also decrease the interest in a private car. As a result, there will be fewer congestions on the roads and, therefore, less pollution in the atmosphere. For instance, the government significantly improves local metro and citizens might prefer to use it rather than spending a lot of money on petrol. On the other hand, people can continue drive using their private vehicles but those which require no petrol but work on electricity. This is because of the fact that electric cars are becoming more and more popular among drivers and they have no harmful impact on the surroundings. Hence, the interest of both sides, namely the condition of the environment and the convenience of drivers, is satisfied. However, due to a high price level, there might be a low demand for electric cars and, therefore, this solution might fail and be inefficient. To conclude, I am firmly convinced that a state should intervene and introduce some new schemes in order to increase the demand for public means of transportation, which, in turn, have a significantly lower harmful influence t on the environment. As a result, more people will quit their private vehicles since it is likely to be more costly than public transport. Despite the fact that there are electric cars their high price might decrease the demand and, hence, do not solve a question of pollution.