University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students in universities are mostly focused on a specific subject in their study. some people argue that the students should also have an understanding of other subjects and the universities could play a crucial role to encourage the students to do so. I totally agree with this argument and in my opinion, students can benefit from studying other subjects in their future carrier. First of all, by learning other subjects the students can gain a wide general understanding of other topics, especially in science and technology. For instance, when I studied for my bachelor's in electronic engineering I remember we had optional classes in other topics like mechanics and control where I gained a lot of knowledge in those fields and that knowledge helped me later on in my master's when I was working on a robotic project. If those optional classes were not mandatory, I wouldn't take them and would have no idea how mechanics of a robot works. Another important factor to consider is that undergrad students usually are not confident about their interests and they are not sure about their future carrier. They might like some other subjects but they were never heard or exposed to it. By studying other courses, they can obtain an understanding in other majors which will help them when they want to choose their future carrier path. In conclusion, provided that the universities have a wide range of subjects, if the students are encouraged to study them, It could benefit them in their future. Not only they can gain a general understanding of other topics, they might even change their path to follow what they like the most.