People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

Most people choose to study in university because they want to get a decent job. Of course, people should study what interest them. However, it is difficult for everyone to achieve their dream, as reality can be cruel. Therefore, the government must keep improving the education system so that young people can pursue what they love. It is often said that the purpose of education is for young people to cultivate their talents. If a person has a gift for the piano, he should be allowed to pursue a degree in music. Majoring in music can give this young man a chance to not only learn from great professors, but also establish a solid foundation for his music. However, not all pianists can play the piano for a living. If his country is still struggling financially, there will be very few chances for him to perform in a concert, or to work as a pianist in a company. It is not uncommon that, even if a young child shows a talent in music or art, his parents will force him to study engineering or medicine. In many countries, such as Taiwan, white-collar jobs have become the norm. These jobs require at least an undergraduate degree, making a university degree almost necessary for survival. I, for instance, love literature. When I was choosing my future study, however, my parents strongly disagreed with my decision to study literature. They believed that reading novels and poetry is never going to help me buy a house or even have a life. I was therefore compelled to choose a major in finance. But when I was in my freshman year, I found that the school was cooperating with the government to help students from all majors to find jobs. Literature, I realized, can have different possibilities. So, I transferred myself in the second year. Now I am still working hard to prepare myself for the future, but I can do what I love. The future of the countries relies on these young people. If they only attend universities because, just it is the norm in the society, but without other reasons, everyone will be just like a robot to work for a living. Therefore, the government should put more effort on education to inspire young people ’s talent and lead them to the right direction of life.