In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this a positive or negative development?

I ndividualism is becoming very common in this modern era where individuals prioritize their personal aims and aspirations over common interests. I believe this has a good impact on society and this essay will outline positive aspects of individualism in the following paragraphs including relevant examples. First of all, there are several good reasons to advocate individualism. Firstly, focusing more on themselves helps improve personal growth. In other words, focusing on personal aims brings more innovation as well as new creative ideas which helps in developing the human mind. Secondly, another merit point could be personal freedom. To add to it, people can choose their interests to focus on rather than choosing someone else's path. For example, in the past, parents used to set goals for their children but nowadays, children are given the opportunity to choose their field of interest which subsequently improves understanding. Furthermore, working on separate aims or aspirations can lead to achieving inner satisfaction. Moreover, doing something interesting gives more energy and a level of satisfaction instead of doing something under the influence of others. Additionally, following personal dreams teaches about risk assessment and helps to think outside of the box. In simple terms, people tend to take more risks to reach their destination when they are working on their own interests. For Example, Elon Musk, a billionaire, wrote in his autobiography that studying and working solely on his dreams made him more successful as well as hard by tackling all the ups and downs alone. In a nutshell, individuality plays an important role which bringing self-satisfaction, personal freedom, and creative thoughts as well as helps to improve personal growth. Also, makes human beings risk-takers by fighting for their goals.