People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

In a society where the career structure has been changed, it is common to see people studying until at least the undergraduate level to fulfill the prevalent job requirement. Different career needs different fields of knowledge. However, in order to make every student able to attend university or college, the universities and colleges have been over- established, and the quality of teaching is getting worse. Therefore, the government should limit the quantity of universities and colleges. In many countries, students learn the basic knowledge until high school;, when they enroll into higher educational institutions, they can acquire further specific fields of professional knowledges to prepare for their career. In Taiwan, before we attend a university, we have to take an exam which tests us on all basic knowledge, such as literature, mathematics, English, social sciences and natural sciences. We choose universities according to are chosen from universities by our exam results. However, not everyone is good in all kind of knowledge, and everyone has their own talent. So it can be seen that many students are unnot able to enrol the major of the university whichin what they want to study, just because they fail in some subjectse some subjects fail. It is common to see students studying a major or attend a university in which they are not really interested in. Following the worldwide development, white collar workers are more than blue collar workers, so people need higher educational degrees in order to gain a better jobs. However, it also can be seen that many students work for the job which is different from what they learn, because it is still believed that people can get the better social status via owning an undergraduate degree or even a postgraduate degree. Studying in universities and colleges is not because they really want to study further specific knowledgeThey study not because they want to, but becauseonly they need at least an undergraduate degrees to fulfill the basic requirement to find a job. Therefore, the government must take actions to help these young people who are confused about why they must study until university and make the better education system to improve this circumstance. The future of the countries relies on these young people. If they only attend universities because, just it is the norm in the society, but without other reasons, everyone will be just like a robot to work for a living. Therefore, the government should put more effort on education to inspire young people ’s talent and lead them to the right direction of life.